Let us not forget the blue sky.

I wrote my submission for the CUEGU  on the spur of the moment. I probably wrote it more for myself, to give vent to my frustrations with the disturbing path that CUHK, and academia as a whole, have been going down. I was not expecting any response from anybody. Somehow the message got circulated annonymously, and a long-time colleague at the Faculty, on reading the submission, had a hunch that it had been written by me.  She wrote to me about that, and when I confirmed with her that it had indeed been written by me, she shared with me a poem that she had written.

This was a very pleasant experience to me.  My colleague had understood me well enough to be able to tell easily that the message for the CUEGU was written by me. And her poem that she was now sharing with me was an invaluable gift for me. With her consent, I copy her poem below. It is a beautiful poem: thought-provoking, resonating, and at the same time, heartwarming.  She had written the poem in response to a picture that a friend of hers had been sending her for two consecutive Christmas’s.

石也起舞,

喚起一句猶太名諺:

“讓我們的心靈最少在每一天起舞一遍。”

是甚麼腳步,

把朋友帶到這個地方?

是甚麼心象,

捕捉了這個圖象,

再衍生新的意象?

峽谷的石紋,亦暗亦明;

谷外的一片小藍天,

豁然朗亮。

意象喚起意象,

本雅明的憶記翩然浮現:

數筆的勾劃,令人恍悟

歷史原來往往是

野蠻的紀錄與夢想的失落;

個人的軌跡,教人明白

人生的悲劇性竟可至此。

在給友人的一封信中,他曾寫道:

“走在黑夜中,

能幫助自己的不是橋,也不是翅膀,

而是朋友的腳步聲。”

他的腳步聲仍將在後來者的心谷盪漾。

谷外的藍天,

是如何可能?                                                          二零零三年聖誕

 

 

“噢,石也起舞。”

“噢,侵蝕的結果。”

他/她們在不同的聲調中彼此發現。

“你為何迷失於此?”

“大抵由於不懂侵蝕的原理,你呢?”

“大抵由於不懂因起舞而驚嘆。”

他/她們開始輕聲談話,

談那說不完的大自然和人的命運,

以及種種命運裏的“起舞”。

在故事的更替綿展間,

飛舞的紋理更見細緻,

暗與明

在交疊轉化中更顯層次。

驀地,他/她們再發现谷外的那片小藍天 ……

是離去的時候了。

在遼闊朗亮的藍天下,

侵蝕和迷失的契機是大地上的恆常。

且回味談話間的暖意﹑故事裏的力量;

且聆聽朋友的腳步聲,

還有那可聆聽的域外清音,

讓心靈得以每天從新起舞。                                               二零零四年冬至

Leave a Reply

