Be a doer, not a critic

如果我盡量不論斷他人,這是因為:
(1) 我們對事情的認識通常經過多重過濾,究竟我對事情的全部知道多少?
(2) 我對事物的判斷會受制於我的出身,我的經驗,我的遭遇,我能夠有多客觀分析事物? (‘We don’t see things as they are. We see things as we are. – Anais Nin.)
(3) 站在道德高地論斷別人容易不過,這是沒有成本的,但易地而处,我肯定我會有更高的道德情操去處理有關事情嗎,尤其是當個人利益攸關?

當然,到今天我仍未能去到全不論斷的境界,但如果不得不論斷,我盡可能論斷事,而不是人。如果不可避免論斷人,我也盡可能具体化,而不是把別人整個的妖魔化。(我給自己的警句是:人家都是有阿媽生的!)

If I try my best not to fall into the habit of criticising, this has to do with a segment of my past. There was a time in my younger days when I liked reading books on self-improvement to find out how I could be more ‘successful’. Of course, today, my conceptions of success have changed quite a bit, but one maxim in one of the books, written by Dr Wayne Dyer, has stuck with me ever since. Dyer said, if you want to be more successful:

BE A DOER, NOT A CRITIC.

Leave a Reply

