Justifying my purchase of a Kindle eReader

We guys are good at finding excuses for buying yet another electronic gadget (just as ladies are good at finding reasons for buying yet another handbag). So I easily talked myself into ‘needing’ a Kindle. Below is the evidence I have amassed so far in proving that I did right in spending HKD1240 on a 2013 4GB Kindle Paperwhite:
1. When I go to the Starbucks, I can take my whole collection of ebooks with me. I can dip into one book, then another, and another ….
2. I can adjust the font size whenever I want to.
3. It has zero glare, unlike an iPad. So it does not tire the eye.
4. Press a word for 2 seconds and its dictionary definition will pop up. The word will then automatically go to my personal vocabulary builder.
5. The vocabulary builder can turn the words I’ve looked up into flash cards for revision.
6. Highlighted phrases and sentences will be stored in a special folder for future reference.
7. The Kindle will help me look cool when I read in public places.
8. Some two-to-three-year-old bestsellers come in very cheap Kindle version. I bought my Kindle version of ‘Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking’ for USD2.99. At Commercial Bookstore, the paperback version costs HKD120.
9. The same Kindle ebook can be read on a Kindle and all personal mobile devices at the same time using the Kindle app (Android tablets/phones; iPhones/iPads).
10. There are older eBooks on the Internet which are free (some could be pirated, though). I’m now re-reading 白先勇的《台北人》 for free.
11. I easily found the next Kindle book I’m going to buy from Amazon: ‘Siddhartha’ by Hermann Hess, which I first read at age 25.

Conclusion: I made the right move in buying a Kindle.

(Postscript: I am not a paid blog writer for commercial enterprises.)

One thought on “Justifying my purchase of a Kindle eReader

  1. Soccer players are taken care of as superstars throughout their lives.
    They are lucky enough to get great adore and affection from their quite a few supporters.

    To cash in on this huge popularity, ‘professional soccer’ came into existence.
    It is a single area, in which billion-greenback transfers of payers consider location regardless of their place.

    Players receive this severe acceptance by their excellent personal abilities.
    Modern professional players like David Beckham (England), Cristiano Ronaldo
    (Portugal), Kaka, Ronaldinho, Ronaldo (Brazil) are really well-known
    in the soccer loving world and David Beckham is stated to be
    the richest soccer participant with total earnings of far more than $50 million.

    The World Cup was as well to be co-hosted by
    Pakistan but in the loss of life look at of the 2009 advance
    on the Sri Lanka civic candid aggregation in Lahore the fundamental of the Pakistani arena of Punjab the International
    Candid Council ended up afflicted to band Pakistan of its web hosting rights.

    The handle of the acclimation board were at first anchored in Lahore but settle for now been
    re-tackled to Mumbai. Pakistan was declared to authority 14 matches like a single semi-final but now Eight of these matches of Pakistan settle for been awarded to India and 4 to Sri Lanka and rest two to Bangladesh.

Leave a Reply

