Seeing a message from other people’s perspective

1213 movie2

I’m always amused by this movie schedule at a nearby cinema. The dates are often the first thing you look at when you scan through a movie schedule. Yet, on this schedule, the dates are almost invisible. (I’ve indicated them with red arrows.)

In 1989, I taught, as a part-time lecturer, a course on business communication for City Polytechnic (which later became City University). One maxim that I myself learnt from the course textbook, which has stuck in my mind since then, is that it’s not what you yourself want to say, it’s what the receiver of the message sees or hears, that counts.

Leave a Reply

