It’s not about the technology

The topic for my e-learning seminar presentation at the University of Hong Kong yesterday for teachers of primary English was:

“What, Why and How to Flip Your English Language Lessons”

This is what I said in the last two minutes of my presentation at HKU yesterday:

“…… So, why flipped classroom?

Last Saturday, after the e-learning seminar for secondary school teachers, I asked my co-presenter, Ms Jenny Leung, what she thought about our flipped classroom project, and the sharing seminar.

Jenny said, ‘Now I’m more certain why I want to be a teacher.’

I asked Jenny, ‘Why are you more certain now that you want to be a teacher?’

Jenny replied, ‘Because I can design good lessons so that my students will learn better, and I can share my experience with other teachers so that they can help their students learn better.’

So, you see, at the end of the day, it’s not about the videos, it’s not about the technology. It’s about how to help students learn better.

And doing their best to help their students learn better – this is what GOOD TEACHERS do.”

 

Leave a Reply

