My vision and mission in education

This morning, after the undergraduate class, one student asked me, out of the blue, what my vision and mission in education is.
 
I wasn’t prepared for the question, so I blurted out, which probably captured my deepest belief, “That teachers will enjoy teaching, and students will enjoy learning.” The next moment, I realised that this was neither revolutionary nor groundbreaking. In fact, it is a rather modest goal. But how many education systems, or schools, have achieved that.? So I added, “Why is that goal so difficult to attain?”
 
I believe that teaching and learning can be intrinsically enjoyable. Life is short. Yet, most of the time, we either let ourselves continue to suffer, or torture each other, in the name of education.
0224-vision-and-mission
Leave a Reply

